Pro Am Golf Classic Taking a Break in 2015

The annual Pro Am Golf Classic held at Mercure Capricorn Resort in Yeppoon on the Capricorn Coast will not appear on the Queensland golfing calendar this year (Wednesday 29th July to Sunday 2nd August 2015), which would have celebrated it’s twenty-third birthday.

Capricorn Enterprise chief executive Mary Carroll said “it is our understanding that a direction has been given by the resort owner, Mr. Iwasaki, that the annual Pro Am Golf Classic will not proceed this year, due to major refurbishment plans.  As a result, Capricorn Resort Golf has regretfully communicated this news to the event sponsors over the weekend.”

“Major refurbishments have been planned for the resort for some time now, and it is believed that these refurbishments will have a major impact on the resort’s ability to host the Pro Am Golf Classic in July this year.”

“Of course we are extremely saddened by this news and the timing is certainly unfortunate in what has been a difficult start to the year, but when Mr. Iwasaki proceeds with a refurbishment of the resort as promised, then the 2016 event will be bigger and better.”

“The annual Pro Am Golf Classic injects about two million dollars into our local economy each year.  This event has been voted ‘Tournament of the Year’ by the Queensland PGA twelve times and ‘Resort Tournament of the Year’ three times.”

“As the region’s peak tourism and economic development organisation, Capricorn Enterprise will continue to strongly support Mr. Iwasaki in his endeavours to improve the resort as the largest single tourism facility on the Capricorn Coast which is a major employer and injects tens of millions of dollars into our local economy each year.”

“We are also fortunate to have the world’s largest hotel chain in Accor managing the resort under the Mercure brand with its global distribution channels, and in a globally competitive market, it is critical that product is upgraded to meet consumer expectations.”

Voted ‘Tournament of the Year’ by the Queensland PGA – 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2012. 

Voted ‘Resort Tournament of the Year’ by the Queensland PGA – 2007, 2008 and 2010.

Blog Navigation