Rookwood Weir funding announced by Prime Minister

Prime Minister the Hon. Malcolm Turnbull today confirmed a Federal government grant of $176 Million to the Queensland State government, which is 50% of the total construction costs of the Rookwood Weir.

Joined by the Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack MP, Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources David Littleproud MP, Member for Capricornia Michelle Landry MP, Member for Flynn Ken O’Dowd MP and Senator the Hon. Matt Canavan in Rockhampton today, this announcement is fantastic news for one of our most critical Regional Priority Projects which will benefit a number of Local Government Council areas. 

The $352 Million Dollar Rookwood  Weir, which will be 50-50 funded between the Federal and State governments, will be an asset owned and operated by the State government.

The Prime Minister was asked at today’s press conference if the Federal government would share the ongoing operational costs, to which he responded that currently the $176 Million federal funds are a Grant to the State Government which will fully own and operate this asset.

However, if the State government wishes to jointly own and operate the asset with the Federal government, sharing in both the expenses and income of Rookwood Weir, the federal government would oblige.

Since its formation in 2010, Capricorn Enterprise has identified the Rookwood Weir as one of our most critical Regional Priority Projects.

Member for Capricornia Michelle Landry MP has been advocating the Rookwood Weir as one of our critical Regional Priority Projects since she took office in 2013.

All six Local Government Authority (LGA) areas within Central Queensland (Livingstone, Rockhampton, Central Highlands, Gladstone, Banana and Woorabinda) have supported the development of Rookwood Weir.

Both Federal and State Governments and Opposition have agreed that the Rookwood Weir is critical for the Agricultural development of Central Queensland, with the Rookwood Weir being a game changer for our great region.

Read the Joint Media Release from Michelle Landry MP, Ken O’Dowd MP and Senator the Hon. Matt Canavan here.

Read the Media Release from The Hon. Dr Anthony Lynham here.


Blog Navigation